Skip navigation

Woke up at 6:29 and felt like a bit of a crank so I tweaked out on facebook and decided to get my bike out of the trunk. I figured I could get in a ride down the Embarcadero and still get home in time to meet my client even though I’m off on Wednesdays. It was a clash of schedules, but I do my best to work things out and it was just to trim her fringe for a wedding that her ex is also attending. So I got dressed in training gear and put on my Nike jacket and found my Nike Vapor Runglasses that have been missing since I put the Contour in the shop. HOLY DAYS. I found it, back on the trail with my sports mask and eye protection. Needed and missed, sorely.

I unfold my bike, set RunKeeper on Airplane mode, secure it in my Camelbak and strap that on to me. Click on my Shuffle, snap on my helmet, zip up my leather Marker Motorcross gloves and off down my street to the Chevron Station across from the EndUp! to inflate my flat tire just to find that someone has ripped off the valve at the air pump.

Having to work harder, down 6th Street avoiding morning traffic and tour busses realizing that my flat is just fine and my little bike is way cool. Right before the 280 onramp, my Shuffle dies and so I pull over by the freeway to disconnect and switch to the iPhone. I figure that this is a good test of the GPS redo my protective gear and then I’m on Townsend passing the Acadamy of Art Campus and Caltrains, swing down King behind the Ballpark and I’m on the Embarcadero.

I rode out on my favorite pier, 14, got off the bike, dealt with the gear and took some pictures of my bike and the scenery. I realized that my GPS wasn’t tracking me because I errantly set it on Airplane and it won’t work in that mode. I guess its bad netiquette to have a satellite tracking you when you are flying because it may interfere with the cockpit radar. I reset the mode and by then it was about 8:20, so I knew that I should be getting back. I was at a loss because my favorite street sculpture, a steel arachnid, was missing and by the time I got to the Ferry Building realized that it was permanently gone.

I pushed it to Pier 23 and turned around, detoured down the quaint antiquey pier and came home up Howard Street weaving through Downtown morning traffic. That’s why I always use protection.

I got home exactly at 9 as my Badtz-Maru battery operated bedside alarm clock was just starting to chime. Uploaded my pics to my profile while waiting for more coffee and got to work to do my bang trim right on time.

I had to apologize to my GM for being sassy and insincere last night at work before I left, but she didn’t even realize that I was being rude and accepted my apology sincerely. I have to give her kudos for that, especially for knowing how to pluck in a way which makes the offender know that she is wrong.

So still pumped up I came home changed and went to the rec center down the street to do some weight training.

It was more dangerous than ever and thuggish as hell because the weight room was at full and there were weights all over the floor. When I got there the little Sony boombox (I can’t call it a ghetto blaster because the radio is dimunitive, yet whoever turned the volume up was sure as hell giving it an honest try) was blasting KMEL, but it was playing that song I liked until I found out that Jamie Foxx sang it, “Blame it on the Alcohol.” People don’t respect the weight room, but all I do is complain about and if you read my old blog, you’d know what I’m talking about it. Lets just say that a disorganized, cluttered and unsafe weight room is the default condition of the weight room at the Gene Friend Recreation Center on 6th Street as is when I say I’m going to yoga assume its a naked practice.

But I was able to get in my “bar” workout, named so because I do the whole routine with a barbell and no weights. I’m gonna break down what I did in sequence today and find abbreviations for the exercises as to save time in future:

    Decline Bench Press [DP] 4 sets of 10 repetitions each [4×10]
    Barbell Curls [BC] 4×6
    Upright Rows [UR] 4×6
    Overhead Press [OP] 4×6
    Bent Over Row [BR] 4×6
    Incline Press [IP] 4×6: failure at [f@] 3×3 + 4×2
    Roman Chair [RC] f@1

 

Now I’m home and I’m going to fix breakfast. I have some media to transfer so I can print out fliers and post them on poles to promote my headlining gig on Tuesday 5 May at the EndUp! The club is called CHASER: What kind of Chaser are you?

That means, Office Depot, drag shopping in the Mission and picking up some meat for pork adobo tonite.

Leave a Reply

