Skip navigation

Training during Pride Week is like being on a diet at Xmas.  One may slip up a little, but if you stick to it, you are doing more good than harm, and its a fucken holiday, so one should go ahead and enjoy shimself and shim’s peeps.

So I did finish the circuit in Golden Gate Park today despite partying rather hard all week, I got it did!  I found myself in the middle of the FrontRunners’ Pride Run between miles 4 and 5 and I thought to myself, wow, this is great training running in a pack.  I started to suffer some of that calf strain at the halfway point and had to walk it out on a few occasions.  I was getting passed by the pack, but I was on mile five, and they were fresh between miles 1 and 2.  Still it was interesting to be enveloped in a cloud of pheromone queer runner atomizing off of high tech fabrics, and most importantly it felt good and strong to recognize transgender, lesbian, bisexual and gay men running.  Used to get my ass kicked in school now I’m ready to kick anyone’s on the trail.

Leave a Reply

