Skip navigation

Just got back from a sports massage and now I’m relaxing and tweeting with a glass of iced yellow wine.  It was great to re-connect with my body worker, Scott Henady from @forbodyandmind confirming that massage is an essential part of training.  I hadn’t seen him in awhile due to budget and setbacks and injuries preempting my training.  It was great to check in again with my knowledgeable therapist and he gave some information and suggestions, like incorporating Tai Chi and Qui Gong into my practice as well as focusing on core.  Its relieving to have someone acknowledge and confirm the areas of the body that are in pain and can do something about it.  I’m not just imagining it.  Training hurts.

Started my morning out at 7am yoga with @suzboop as a partner.  I’m hoping that she decides to do Gold’s and hope to influence her to share my practice even going so far as to brick a trail run and try a Women’s Naked Yoga class on her own.  I forgot my socks so I had to drive back home to get them before I could do my second run at Lands End but I was glad I did because I was able to change out of my black Adidas technical tights and put on my Adidas running shorts with the minimal inseam.  Tight black tank-top that I wore in yoga.  Spring has come a bit early to San Francisco and today was sunny, clear and mild to warm.

The benefit of doing a trail run after a yoga class is that you know you are stretched, so I just bounced around a bit and found myself in my body before getting started at the trail head.  Nice day brought out more joggers and hikers and it was good to see.  Puddles on the trail had a chance to dry out, but the damp hard packed trail is a pleasure to run on. Monterey Pine provided a cool shady canopy, protecting me from the UV that can trigger latent viral infections and cause hyper-pigmentation on my burn scars.  Coming past the overlook of Mile Rock and to the stairs I saw a yellow reflective road sign proclaiming “Trail Work Ahead” propped against a wood post.  I had to stop for a photo session then continued up the stairs where Rangers in their green and grey uniforms were cementing the pilings and leveling the stone steps in the earth.  On a portion of the trail I saw an hiker with her forehead be-ashed and eyes beatific as a zombie.  Likely a consequent of a Catholic ceremony.

Found my legs under me quite strong but a bit heavy and feeling significantly much improved from the start.  On top of the ruins of the Sutro Estate, a plinth for a razed monument, saw that Ocean Beach was clear but coastal fog was seething into Daly City just above Fort Funston.  The ridge and towers of San Bruno Mountain in the distance made me proud to know I ran there and I  put together a sequence of courses in ascending distance and elevations.  Never got a chance to run on the cement overlook barriers with the iron fittings because either sight seers were sitting on them or nannies had their baby strollers against them.  A dad hiking with his infant in a Baby Bjorn caused me to wonder how I’d trail run with a kid.  Have to give kudos to the dad for taking his child out on the trail just to ingrain the distant sound of mellow crashing waves down the cliffs, the coolness of a damp shaded trail and the heat of the sunlight in a clearing while listening to the sound track of a father’s beating heart, feeling safe and secure swaddled in blankets against dad’s woolen sweater.  Got cruised a little bit warming down on the platform at Eagle’s Point.

  • 17 February 2010
  • 10:21 – 11:03am
  • 41:50
  • 3:27 miles
  • 12:47 avg. pace
  • 4.69 avg. speed
  • 295 feet climbed
  • 161.8 lbs.

4 Comments

  1. sweet

    • James Leader
    • Posted Thursday 18 February 2010 at 1:35 am
    • Permalink
    • Reply

    good gravy Z. You are sooo good at this. I am moving to SF so you can be my life coach!!

  2. i like that u are so in touch with your body. wish i could say the same!

      • polynesian69
      • Posted Thursday 18 February 2010 at 10:03 am
      • Permalink
      • Reply

      Virtually yours!


Leave a Reply

