Skip navigation

Up at 6 and out before 7am knowing that if I ran fast I would time it just right to get my run in and get home for a quick breakfast  before work.  Forecasters were threatening rain and I made sure I was adequately protected from its immanence in layers of gear and stashing a zip-loc specimen bag in my CamelBak to keep my iPhone dry.  At Baker Beach, the tide was high and the break was onshore.  Nice low pressure from the oncoming storm and rising humidity.  An oppressively low marine layer in the early morning.  In other words, a perfect day for a run.

I ran the course as I described it in my previous post, OUTDOOR ATTENTION.  Like I said there, all the hard shit is in the front: the climb up the switchback behind Battery Chamberlin and the grueling steps leading away from Marshall’s Beach on the Batteries to Bluffs Trail.  Someone had removed the mushroom on the stump at Battery Crosby.  ChefJamesO identified it for me as possibly Lepiota and most likely poisonous or inedible.  No one on this part of the trail in the early morning, but at Crissy Field it is always a different story.  I found a nice a 9:12 pace then walked it out across the marsh and up Halleck to Moraga.  Feeling a little quicker than the other day for sure but still the trail behind the graveyard is still kick ass.  After that its all cruisy to the Wine Bunker and back down to the beach from there.

Right when I finished the run I checked my stats then checked my tweets and it just started to sprinkle.  I beat the rain and was happy to get this in today.

  • 12 March 2010
  • 7:17 -8:29am
  • 1:12:18
  • 5.43 miles
  • 13.18 avg. pace
  • 4.51 avg. speed
  • 820 feet climbed
  • 803 calories burned

Leave a Reply

