Skip navigation

In today’s Sunrise Yoga practice I felt centered like I do sometimes on the trail and found a reserve of upper body strength that I was pleased to tap into.  I had to modify my practice to accommodate the hip but I found the yoga stretches helping to strengthen the ass muscles surrounding the site of the soreness.  I confessed to my yoga instructor Anita as she was winding down the class that I was modifying on my own and if I was doing ok with it.  She said she had noticed and thought that it might be my quad but when I told her it was my hip she said, “Oh, its piriformis syndrome…” Eyebrow alert!

She said it could possibly be from running, but I know that the spasms happened in yoga class last Thursday because I was feeling really open and getting deep into my poses when I first noticed.  Just like any athlete, you don’t want to say that your sport could be the possible cause of your injury.  I know with me the piriformis syndrome or hip joint pain to be utterly clear is an ongoing chronic condition.  I think the problem comes mostly from the way I stand at work, rooted with pressure on the outside of both feet but more so on the right.  This brings tension through the knee and through the hip.  I used wikipedia to find out more about the syndrome and it pretty much diagnoses me spot on.  I found this quote there that is encouraging and letting me know that this piriformis syndrome is manifesting itself as a result of my activity. It seems the best remedy is through activity. If I continue doing what I am practicing in sport then I’m probably going to end up save my hip at an older age:

When piriformis syndrome is caused by weak abductors combined with tight adductors, a highly effective and easy treatment includes stretching and strengthening these muscle groups. An exercise regimen targeting the gluteus medius and hip adductor muscle groups can alleviate symptoms of piriformis syndrome within days.

And this quote below describes my body mechanics when I am standing behind the chair at work.  I truly do resemble this remark:

Piriformis syndrome can also be caused by overpronation of the foot. When a foot overpronates it causes the knee to turn medially, causing the piriformis to activate to prevent over-rotating the knee. This causes the piriformis to become overused and therefore tight, eventually leading to piriformis syndrome.

So it is my suspicion that I truly do suffer from this syndrome and it is coming up in my endurance training so overcoming / acknowledging / managing it will be a targeted focus of mine.  I think because of the yoga I’m doing I’m getting the strengthening and stretching.  I think I really need to see a podiatrist at Kaiser and have them design some orthotics for my combat boots that I wear as part of my uniform and see if I can try to alter my working stance.  Also, I think barefoot running is going to help a bit and so will massages with my body worker. I got the team in place.  I feel good about this diagnosis.

2 Comments

  1. hubby has that.
    it flairs up every now and again.
    take care of yourself

      • polynesian69
      • Posted Tuesday 23 March 2010 at 8:46 am
      • Permalink
      • Reply

      now that I know what it is I can do something about it. Thanks for stopping by!


Leave a Reply

