Skip navigation

Yesterday, as part of my Volunteer in Parks training, I was treated to, along with my fellow SFMNHP docents, a behind the scenes tour of Alcatraz Island by the lead interpretive ranger there.  Caught the 9:30 ferry and seeing all the other docents in uniform made me realize how geeky in love I am with my volunteer commitment.  We gathered and caught the 9:30 Ferry to the island and were greeted by the lead interp.  We were able to stow our gear in the Ranger office because the day proved quite mild whereas we had all geared up for weather most inclement.  One never knows in San Francisco.

The lead ranger started the tour in the barracks where the Rangers have their offices.  Immediately I was taken by the pastel lead paint of the 1905 structure realizing that I have similar colors in the insides of my flat’s cabinets and I was getting some good ideas for design.  The tour led us all over and what was scheduled as a 3 hour tour ended up running 5.  I got to scale the light house and climb on top, get locked in a cell and explore the gunnery, the place where the guards would keep watch behind wrought iron gates so that the inmates couldn’t get at them.  It was an amazing tour.  One I won’t forget.

So I was just arriving at Pier 33 after the boat docked at 3.  Warriors Choice Yoga looked like it was a miss, but I decided that I could do Naked Yoga for Men.  Had enough time to snack and nap.  Had a couple of beers and ventured off to Naked Yoga.

Class was fairly small because of the Lost finale and Darren was teaching much to my relief.  Somehow my nap had caused a significant soreness in my left shoulder and bearing weight on it was quite painful so I had to modify.  I’ve never been sick at sea, but onshore I still remember the rolling of the waves and I was getting a little sea sick from inverting and balancing.  It was obviously bad and Darren came over to see what was wrong and I explained that my shoulder hurt and inversions are making me nauseous.  Darren read the energy of the class which was low and the rest of the session became somewhat restorative.  Maybe I shouldn’t have gone.

I came home and relaxed.  Ended up falling asleep on the couch watching Doctor Who and woke up in the middle of the night to find now that my right knee is giving me pain.

Grr… there goes any hope of getting in a run on Monday.  I woke up, realized that my knee was stiff and sore, couldn’t go to 7am yoga nor my run with Santa.  I texted her I couldn’t make it but got no answer.  I took a Tylenol 3 and got back in bed.  Santa called and I explained what was going on.  I hate saying this knee is from running, but everything is connected.  Thinking the worst about the marathon and then just let it go.  Good news followed, my Aunt Teresa called to tell me she had tickets to give me for the Giant’s game.  I played an online poker tournament and had coffee until she stopped by to drop them off.

Finished up the poker tournament and I’m thinking I’ll be good to go and start doing weight training at the gym since my knee is fucked up and I want to start doing upper body regularly.  Just put on a fresh tank and went down and did a bar routine with 2 exercises going, no rest in between, 3 sets each until muscle failure.  Then I did the same with dumb bells, modifying a bit.  Then Fauxnique walked in to teach her 4:30 class.  I finished up on my workout about 4:20 and went to go talk to her about my knee and let her convince me I could hang in there to get yoga.

Went back to my Contour to get my mat and came into the studio and found a sunny spot to do yoga.  The class was smooth and gave me the confidence to know that I can go yoga tomorrow but I’m waiting for the stiffness to get out my knee before I push running.  I was just really happy to get my workout in today despite this setback.  I’m just going to keep positive, train smart and keep going.

Leave a Reply

